Tuesday, March 28, 2023
HomeGK & Current AffairsLiterature awarded 2020 to American poet Louise Glück

Literature awarded 2020 to American poet Louise Glück

The 2020 Nobel Prize in literature has been awarded to former U.S. Poet Laureate Louise Gluck, the Swedish Academy announced Thursday. The judges cited “her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”

Louise Glück
Louise Glück was born in New York City in 1943 and grew up on Long Island. She attended Sarah Lawrence College and Columbia University. Considered by many to be one of America’s most talented contemporary poets, Glück is known for her poetry’s technical precision, sensitivity, and insight into loneliness, family relationships, divorce, and death. The poet Robert Hass has called her “one of the purest and most accomplished lyric poets now writing.”

Nobel prize
Nobel prize is the most prestigious award in the world. This award is administered by the Nobel Foundation in stockholm, sweden. This prize consists of a medal, personal diploma and a cash award.
Every year since 1901,the Nobel prize has been awarded for achivements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, Literature and for peace. In 1968,Sveriges Riksbank(Swedens central bank)established prize in economic science in memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel prize.

To read Light Lines Daily continuously, join this group..

Must Read