Friday, June 2, 2023
HomeGK & Current AffairsScienceFour researchers win Kerala State Young Scientist Awards 2021

Four researchers win Kerala State Young Scientist Awards 2021

The Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) has announced Kerala State Young Scientist Awards (KSYSA) 2021.

The award is given to four “talented Young Scientists in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Science & Technology.”

The winners are Dr Niladri Sekhar Chatterjee, Dr Anoop CS, Dr Jayanarayanan CR and Dr AM Ramiya.

Dr Chatterjee is a scientist at the Biochemistry & Nutrition Division of ICAR- Central Institute of Fisheries Technology, Willingdon Island, Kochi. Dr Anoop is Associate Professor of the Department of Avionics, Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology, Thiruvananthapuram. His colleague Ramiya is an Assistant Professor of the Department of Earth & Space Sciences.

Dr Jayanarayanan is an Assistant Professor of the Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology, Palakkad.

The award carries a cash prize of Rs 50,000, Chief Minister’s Gold Medal, research grant up to Rs 50 lakh and travel support for a visit abroad for presenting the research work at a conference.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will present the Award on February 10, during the inaugural session of the 34th Kerala Science Congress at Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram, the release said.

Young scientists who are working in Kerala for the last three years are considered for the award. Their independent research works are evaluated by an expert committee. Vice-Chancellors of Universities in Kerala, Directors of R & D Centres, Heads of Institutions & Departments and Fellows of Academies can nominate for the award. Nominations will be valid for 3 years or the eligibility age (37 years) whichever is earlier.

To read Light Lines Daily continuously, join this group..

Must Read