Thursday, March 23, 2023
HomeGK & Current AffairsIndian Armed Force

Indian Armed Force

Soldiers are the guards of our land, who remain sleepless for our better life. The nation is so proud of them. Many of us are interested to join the force. So let’s get to know more about the various defense departments.
The president of India is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The Indian Armed Forces are under the management of the Ministry of Defense (MoD) of the Government of India. The Ministry of Defense is charged with coordinating and supervising all agencies and functions of the government relating directly to national security and the Indian Armed Forces. The minister of defense is the head of the ministry of defense of the government of India. The first defense minister of independent India was Baldev Singh. Manohar Parrikar of the Bharatiya Janata Party is the present defense minister. V K Krishna Menon was the first Malayali defense minister of India. The only one cantonment in Kerala is situated in Kannur.
The headquarters of Indian Armed Forces is in New Delhi, the capital city of India.

Heads of Indian Armed Force
Commander in Chief                      :  President Pranab Mukherjee.
Chief of the Army Staff                  :  General Bipin Rawat.
Chief of the Naval Staff                  :  Admiral Sunil Lamba
Chief of the Air Staff                      :  Birender Singh Dhanoa
Director General of BSF                  :  K K Sharma
Chief of RAW                                 :  Anil Dhasmana

the Indian Army is the land based branch and the largest component of the Indian Armed Forces. The primary mission of the Indian Army is to ensure national security and nationhood unity. The Indian Army has a regimental system, but is operationally and geographically divided into seven commands. Field Marshal K M Cariappa was the first Indian Commander in Chief of the Indian Army. Army Day is celebrated on 15 January every year in India, in recognition of Lieutenant General K M Cariappa’s take over as the first commander in chief of Indian Army. Kargil Day, a day to remember our fallen heroes is celebrated on July 26.


Indian Navy is the naval branch of the Indian Armed Forces. The primary objective of the navy is to secure the nations maritime borders. Vice Admiral Ram Dass Katari was the first Indian to be the chief of the Naval Staff. INS Arihant is the lead ship of India’s Arihant class of nuclear powered ballistic missile submarines. Arihant was launched on 26 July 2009, the anniversary of Kargil War Victory Day by former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh. Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam was the first President to sail in submarine in India.

The Indian Naval Commands
Eastern Naval Command             :           Visakhapatnam
Western Naval Command           :           Mumbai
Southern Naval Command          :           Kochi

Indian Air Force is the air arm of the Indian Armed Forces. It was officially established on 8 October 1932 and the primary responsibility is to secure Indian airspace and to conduct aerial warfare during a conflict.  Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee was the first Chief of the Air Staff of the Indian Air Force.  The Indian Air Force Academy was established in 1969 and is located in Hyderabad.  Hindustan Aeronautical Limited is an Indian-state owned aerospace and defense company primarily involved in the manufacturing of military aircrafts. The first passenger aircraft designed and manufactured in India is Saras.

Equivalent Ranks of the Indian Armed Forces
Army                                     Air Force                                          Navy
General                                 Air Chief Marshal                           Admiral
Lt. General                           Air Marshal                                      Vice Admiral
Major General                    Air Vice Marshal                             Rear Admiral
Brigadier                               Air Commodore                              Commodore
Colonel                                  Group Captain                                Captain
Lt. Colonel                            Wing Commander                         Commander
Major                                    Squadron Leader                           Lt. Commander
Captain                                  Flight Lieutenant                            Lieutenant
Lieutenant                            Flying Officer                                   Sub Lieutenant








To read Light Lines Daily continuously, join this group..

Must Read