Tuesday, March 21, 2023
HomeGK & Current AffairsIndian Air Force Day 2020

Indian Air Force Day 2020

The Indian Air Force (IAF) celebrated its 88th foundation day on Thursday. On this occasion, a ceremony was organized at the Hindon Airbase in Ghaziabad. The Indian Air Force (IAF) was established on October 8, 1932. The foundation day of the IAF is also known as Air Force Day.
Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) Bipin Rawat was present in the program along with several other senior IAF officers. The chiefs of the three armed services were also present on the occasion.
The officers who received the Yudh Seva Medal are Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal, Group Captain Hansel Sequera and Group Captain Hemant Kumar Vadsra.

Yudh Seva Medal recognizes distinguished service of a high order during war, conflict or hostilities.
Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal is a Fighter Controller with the Indian Air Force. She was part of the team that guided Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman during the 2019 Balakot airstrike carried out by the IAF.
To avenge the Pulwama terror attack in Jammu and Kashmir, India carried out an aerial strike at a terror training camps in Balakot in Pakistan on February 26 last year.
A total of 40 soldiers were martyred in the terror attack which was claimed by Pakistan-based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammed on February 14.

To read Light Lines Daily continuously, join this group..

Must Read