Thursday, June 1, 2023
HomeDaily NewsElection : 7-phase election in 5 states from Feb 10, counting on...

Election : 7-phase election in 5 states from Feb 10, counting on March 10

After holding a series of meetings with the health officials, the Election Commission of India on Saturday announces the schedule for the upcoming assembly elections in Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh on Saturday. Out of these 5 poll-bound states, the BJP is in power in 4 states including Goa, Manipur, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh. While the term of the current Uttar Pradesh assembly is ending in May, those of the other four assemblies are ending on different dates in March.

7-phase election in UP: Statewise dates here

Uttar Pradesh to go to poll in 7 phases from February 10 to March 7; Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa to vote on February 14 & Manipur to vote on February 2 and March 3.

Polling to begin on Feb 10, counting on March 10

Here are the details of the 7 phases

Phase 1: Feb 10

Phase 2: Feb 14 (Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa)

Phase 3: Feb 20 (Only Uttar Pradesh)

Phase 4: Feb 23

Phase 5: Feb 27 (Manipur)

Phase 6: March 3 (Manipur)

Phase 7: March 7

Counting: March 10

No roadshow, political rally allowed till January 15

Reducing physical contact, emphasis on virtual rallies

No roadshow, physical rally till January 15

EC announces campaign curfew after 8pm

No victory procession

Maximum 5 people allowed for door-to-door campaigning

CEC said the guidelines will be reviewed after January 15 after analysing the Covid situation.

To read Light Lines Daily continuously, join this group..

Must Read